City could have secured the title last week but blew a two- lead in a shock 3-2 defeat to United, but that only served to delay their celebrations by eight days.

Their derby defeat meant ’s side could not win the title this week without some help from West Brom, but they kept up their end of the bargain with a stylish 3-1 dismantling of Tottenham on Saturday.