New NUC Universities Grading And CGPA System In Nigerian


Want create site? Find Free WordPress Themes and plugins.

New NUC Universities Grading And CGPA System In Nigerian

The New Grading System approved by the National Universities Commission, NUC is no longer using a scale of 5, the new system is based on a scale of 4. First Class is 3.5 – 4. Second Class upper is 3 – 3.49. Second class lower is 2.0 – 2.99 and so on.

According to NUC Chairman,Professor Shehu Galadanchi released to all Nigerian Universities



Under the new Four (4)-Point Grading Scale, grades to be used for students who have satisfactorily completed the course of study are as follows:
Letter Grade: Marks Grade Point
A (70 and above) 4
B (60-69%) 3
C (50-59%) 2
D (45-49%) 1
E (40-44%) 0
CGPA Ranges under the new Four (4)- Point Grading Scale for Classification of Degrees:
3.5- 4.00 – First Class Honours
3.0-3.49 – Second Class Honours (Upper Division)
2.0-2.99 – Second Class Honours (Lower Division)
1.0-1.99 – Third Class Honours

RELATED:   57 List of Illegal Universities in Nigeria by NUC


No student whose CGPA is less than 1.0 shall be awarded a degree.
Deans of Faculties and Heads of Departments are enjoined to ensure compliance and commencement of the new regulations with the intakes of 2017/2018 Session, while the old regulations remain applicable to students admitted before the 2017/2018 Session.

Note: This new grading system should take effect from 2017/2018 academic session for only newly admitted students in various universities. Previously admitted students will still be using the 5.0 scale.


What’s your thoughts on this new grading system. kindly share your thoughts with us.

What’s your take on this? I urge you to use this same opportunity to share this information across to others using our Facebook, twitter or Google+share button below


Did you find apk for android? You can find new Free Android Games and apps.

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.